Controversy in La Plata: the VAR canceled the goal of Estudiantes vs. Paranáenc

Lollo sent the ball into the net, but referee Matonte decided to disallow it due to Morel's advanced position. Did it block the archer's vision?

Goal Estudiantes vs.  from Paraná

In the second half of the meeting between Students of La Plata and Paranaense, for the quarter-finals of the Copa Libertadores de America, there was a big controversy that ended with the ball in the net and what seemed to be Punxa's first goal.

Luciano Lollo he pushed it after collecting a rebound on the post but the play was canceled because the assistant raised the flag when he saw an Estudiantes player in an advanced position, who was Jorge Morel.

Students vs. Athletico Paranaense, for the 2022 Copa Libertadores de América: Luciano Lollo's goal disallowed

Play
Students vs.  Athletico Paranaense, for the 2022 Copa Libertadores de América: Luciano Lollo's goal disallowed

The referee Matonte went to the VAR and Estudiantes was left without the goal against Paranaense

Morel was ahead, but what referee Andrés Matonte had to decide was if the defender of Estudiantes hindered the vision of the archer Bento.

It gave the impression that Bento could do little to prevent Lollo's goal, however for Matonte, the location of Morel conditioned the archer and he ended up taking the advanced position.

Students vs. Athletico Paranaense, for the Copa Libertadores de América 2022: Andrés Matonte looks at the VAR and cancels Luciano Lollo's goal

Play
Students vs.  Athletico Paranaense, for the Copa Libertadores de América 2022: Andrés Matonte looks at the VAR and cancels Luciano Lollo's goal

The other controversy in La Plata: Pedro Henrique's push to Pablo Piatto

Estudiants and Paranaense closed the quarter-finals of the Copa Libertadores de América and one of the highlights of the first half in La Plata was a coup against Pablo Piatti, which could have had more important consequences.

Piatti went to look for a ball on the left side of the Estudiantes attack, he was pushed by Pedro Henrique and ended up hitting the UNO stadium cement. Fortunately, the situation had no consequences for the Punxa player.

Andrés Matonte, the referee of the match between Estudiantes and Paranaense, did not even charge an infringement. The VAR did not intervene either. Pedro Henrique had been booked a few minutes earlier.

Students vs. Athletico Paranaense, for the Copa Libertadores de America 2022: the push that Pablo Piatti receives

Play
Students vs.  Athletico Paranaense, for the Copa Libertadores de America 2022: the push that Pablo Piatti receives

Don't miss anything

Got the latest Copa Libertadores news and more!

to comment

You may be interested

Comments