Mireia Belmonte and García Bragado, awarded at the Sports Gala for their careers

The swimmer Mireia Belmonte collects the lifetime achievement award from the president of the Spanish Olympic Committee (COE), Alejandro Blanco. / EFE

Stars of 2019 and 2020 and of the Olympic Games, together with the retired Iker Casillas and Felipe Reyes and the film director José Luis Garci, are awarded by the AEPD in Teruel

R. C. Teruel

Tuesday, 21 September 2021, 01:14

Mireia Belmonte and Jesús García Bragado were awarded this Monday for their entire career during the National Sports Gala organized by the Spanish Association of Sports Press (AEPD), which awarded stars in Teruel who stood out not only in 2019 and 2020, but also at the Olympic and Paralympic Games in Tokyo. The XL Sports Gala that should have been held in March 2020 and was postponed due to the coronavirus pandemic also recognized a dozen teams, legendary athletes already retired, such as Iker Casillas and Felipe Reyes, and the film director José Luis Garci .

“Mireia represents the gene and DNA of the Spanish competitor,” stressed the president of the Spanish Olympic Committee (COE), Alejandro Blanco, for whom, with the example of the Catalan swimmer, “success is assured in the Paris 2024 Games.” «I believe that I will arrive at Paris. Now I am in a rest period, but I will train and compete again to try to reach the top, “said Mireia Belmonte, who after a year and a half injured was fourth in the 400 styles at the Tokyo 2020 Games,” a since it was like winning a medal. The athlete Jesús García Bragado also received his award in person, after having participated in his eighth consecutive Olympic Games in Tokyo.

In addition to Mireia Belmonte, six other Olympic medalists, Ruth Beitia, Carolina Marín, the karatecas Sandra Sánchez (gold in kata in Tokyo 2020) and Damián Quintero (silver in kata), Alberto Ginés, gold in climbing, and Adriana Cerezo, silver in taekwondo, were awarded by the AEPD, as well as the Paralympic champion Susana Rodríguez, who made the cover in ‘Time’ magazine before winning gold in adapted triathlon in the Japanese capital.

Above. Taekwondo Adriana Cerezo; and former soccer player Iker Casillas upon arrival at the gala. Below. Badminton player Carolina Marín and former jumper Ruth Beitia.

The winning teams were the Spanish under-21 football team led by Luis de la Fuente, the men’s and women’s basketball teams, the men’s handball team, the women’s water polo team, the Davis Cup team, Sevilla (for the Europa League ), Real Madrid (for the 2020 League), Real Sociedad (for the 2020 Cup), Valencia (for the 2019 Cup), Barcelona (for the 2019 League) and Club Teruel Volleyball, champion of the last editions of League and Cup.

To sports medicine

The AEPD award for their medical assistance and research work related to sports medicine went to doctors Pedro Luis Ripoll and Mariano de Prado, founders of Ripoll and De Prado Sport Clinic, the FIFA Center of Excellence. “I want to share this award with those people who are suffering, at home and in hospitals, the consequences of the covid. Sports people are with them, we love them and support them and we are going to get out of this », proclaimed Dr. Ripoll, recognized as one of the five best traumatologists in Spain by ‘Forbes’ magazine. Doctors Ripoll and De Prado regularly treat elite athletes from teams such as Real Madrid, Atlético, Sevilla or Villarreal, and they belong to the medical-scientific commission of the Spanish Football Federation (FEF).

Other recognized entities were the Spanish Paralympic Committee (CPE), whose award was collected by its president, Miguel Carballeda, La Quiniela, the Trinidad Alfonso Foundation, and the Reminiscence Project (Football against Alzheimer’s) of former footballers Fernando Giner and Roberto Solozábal.

To close the event, in the section for the so-called legends, the following were honored: Javier Fernández, Joana Pastrana, Fernando Arcega, Beatriz Ferrer-Salat, Javier Moracho, Ángela Pumariega, Herminio Menéndez, Maite Zúñiga, David Cal, Sofía Toro, Alejandro Abascal , Mercedes Fuertes, Abel Antón, Alejandra Quereda, José Manuel Moreno, Anabel Medina, Juan Antonio Corbalán, Lourdes Mohedano, Luis María Garriga and Thais Henríquez.


The post Mireia Belmonte and García Bragado, awarded at the Sports Gala for their careers appeared first on Archyde.

Source link

Leave a Comment